RSS

Who I Am and Why You Should Care

13 Apr

Hello, Everyone!

Welcome to my new Blog!  I’m intending this to be my “Professional” Blog.  And it’s going to update every Wednesday!  (My personal Blog is still up-and-running as well and will continue to update Mondays as usual).

But who am I?

My name is Lauren R. Tharp.  I’m a freelance writer for hire!  But before that I was…

Me at Children's Hospital

Me at Childrens Hospital

A baby!

I was born with a terrible defect in my hip.  I was handicapped.  Thanks to the miracle-workers at Children’s Hospital in Los Angeles, that’s not the case anymore.

Then I…

Feeling the power of Zotz coin...

Forrest J. Ackerman gave me his Zotz! coin

…got a magic coin!  ZOTZ!

After that a large chunk of time went by and I did a bunch of things…

Me in high school

The outfit (and expression) I wore throughout high school

…like going to high school…

5 Kata

Doing a Kata for a demonstration

…and earning a black belt and teaching martial arts classes to children…

Gallery at the End of the World

Some of my paintings...

…and getting my artwork up in a gallery (3 times!)…

Sold to raise money for Children's Hospital

Fan Art of my favourite comics

…and selling a piece of fan art I did (for charity)…

EPIC!

Still one of my faves, years later...

…I had my own webcomic and I got hired to illustrate a children’s book

Three Cats--count 'em!--Three!

Clockwise: Ziggy (white), Ringo (orange), and Robert (black)

…and I fell in love with cats (seriously, if you check out my personal Blog, you’ll read a LOT about my cats).

And at this point you’re probably saying to yourself, “Well, this is all very well and good, but what does this have to do with writing?”  Good question.

My History with Writing

I’ve always loved to write.  I wrote my first “book” in 1st grade.  It was an IlluStory book about a horse that was afraid to jump—which I aptly named The Horse That Was Afraid to Jump.

In 8th grade, I spent most of my free time working on a lovely piece of sci-fi that ended up being 109 pages long.

In high school, I got several awards for my writing including a Golden State Award in Written Composition; and I was also declared the best in my year for 11th grade English.  In addition to that, my short stories were nominated “Story of the Month” three separate times in the now defunct Teen magazine.  I was also the head writer for my high school’s newspaper, the Clark Chronicle.

Straight out of high school, I wrote two original screenplays (The Answer is Always Bea and A Little Respect).  I also won the Editor’s Choice award from the International Library of Poetry for my poem “Another Degree of Nine” in 2004.

In 2006, I wrote several articles for The Pulse, a magazine that specializes in reporting on events happening at Comic Con.

Reporting for The Pulse

A Serious Reporter (Yes, thats me).

When I Got Serious About Writing

I had always dabbled in writing—short stories, poems, and articles mostly—but I had never considered doing it seriously until fairly recently.  Sure, I had been hired to “proofread” (i.e. write) some essays for fellow pupils when I was in high school, but that was pretty much the extent of my paid work.

However, in August of 2010, I decided to take the plunge.  And now here I am: A professional freelance writer!

I started out getting jobs from the usual places:

I spent my time writing articles, press releases, haikus, and short stories.  I also did some proofreading and copy-editing.

But then, in October of 2010, I got hired to work on this television show:

Champions of Champions Elite

"The Best of Muay Thai!"

I became the “Official Blogger” for Champions of Champions Elite.  (If you click that link, it will take you to my work).  I was also put in charge of their Official Facebook and Twitter accounts.

After my stint working for COC-Elite, I ended up doing more in the Combat Sports line of work.  I put my journalism skills to the test and interviewed Muay Thai fighters such as:

ROXY “BALBOA” RICHARDSON

Roxy Balboa Richardson

Roxy and me

and

GORAN KARAMFILOSKI

GORAN KARAMFILOSKI

Goran doing an amazing kick

But I was soon picked up to do weekly articles/contributions for WP PRO BUSINESS.

WP Pro Business

wpPro Business

As it says on the website, “WP Pro Business is the creation of Adam W. Warner in partnership with a select team of professional WordPress power users.”  You should check it out.  My contributions can be found HERE.

In my spare time, I still accept orders from clients (maybe you?), work on my poetry and fiction, and create Squidoo lenses for fun!

CONTACT ME

I can be contacted for a free consultation for your project, or just to say “hi,” at littlezotz (at) gmail (dot) com.

For more about me personally, feel free to visit my Personal Blog.

For more about anything else, please visit my Official Webpage.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Who I Am and Why You Should Care

  1. Mr WordPress

    April 13, 2011 at 12:04 am

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
